The last day you’re a “baby”

My little Graham cracker. Little pickles. You’ll be one year old tomorrow. And I’m so, so thrilled we are out of the newborn phase, the tiny infant phase, and the “I’m a human lump” phase. It’s a blast to see your incessantly busy personality developing. It’s funny to see your dark hair fading to red. I’m so glad we didn’t name you Archer, your nickname would have inevitability been Archie with those ginger locks you have. Your laugh, your ability to mimic your parents and brother, and your irresistible smile all add to your giant personality. As you grow, you will continue to prove you are a force to be reckoned with.

image

image

You’re more… challenging than your brother. More strong willed. You are your own person, no doubt, but I see a lot of me in you, while I see more of your dad in your brother. I can’t wait to watch you grow more, hear you talk more, see you explore more. As you embark on the adventurous toddler phase, I’m excited to see you and your big bro bond more and play together even more. You have no idea how lucky you are to have such a sweet, good natured brother. I foresee you getting him into trouble, and him working to keep you out of it.

I call your brother my heart walking around. I watch you, with your ferocity, your sometimes volatile disposition, and your unwillingness to be ignored, and I think, while he is my heart, you are my spirit, little one.

Happy birthday, Graham cracker.

image

About mombieconfessions

I am a sarcastic mom, tried and true INTJ, my DISC profile has a high D and C with low I and S, and I'm a quirky geek (love me some Star Wars, BSG, Firefly, Dr, Who and comic books!). When I grow up I want to be an Amazon warrior with super powers and an awesome costume. Music and literature are passions, cooking and baking are hobbies, and writing a blog (such as this one) is both a cathartic release and documentation of the growth of my family and myself. View all posts by mombieconfessions

One response to “The last day you’re a “baby”

  • Ruth Warren

    I love this! and I think you are right… he has your spirit! He is so energetic… and adorable…. and yes sometimes a bit gripey! lol! I love how you describe both boys! You are so blessed and so are they!

Leave a Reply

