Second Trimester Lower Body Workout

I can’t believe this pregnancy is just about halfway over. It’s wild to think that this time with mini Gwinn I was still working and moving from an apartment to a house. And I was showing in a different way. I mean, I’m showing now. But, in the first go around, right around 18 weeks, I had a rotund belly that was very obviously “pregnant belly”. Now I just look … fat. And it’s not for trying otherwise. I’m eating pretty well, working out a few times a week, and staying active. And with the exception of needing to wear bigger bras and slightly bigger clothes, I’m nowhere near maternity clothing. I can wear a couple pairs of my regular jeans still (I was definitely in maternity clothes all the time by this point with mini Gwinn). But 2.0 is as active as his/ her older brother was in the womb. I feel head over toe flips, wiggles, and barrel rolls.

I digress! Here’s what I’ve been doing for my lower body workout while in my second trimester.

Warm up: stationary bike at a moderate resistance, 5 minutes
Backwards static lunges on Smiths machine (bar weighs 15 lbs, I add 10 lbs to each side for a total of 35 lbs) – each leg, 3 sets of 6 per leg
Normal stance squats on Smiths machine (35 lbs total) – 3 sets of 8
Narrow stance squats on a Smiths machine (35 lbs total) – 3 sets of 6
Leg press jumps – 30 lbs, 12 jumps
Leg press varied height squats – 30 lbs, 12 at each height (start with your legs straight and do a shallow squat, then go slightly deeper, and progress all the way to the point where the weight stack you’re pressing is very close to the stack you’re not lifting- this gets really tough!)
Hip Adductions- 95 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Hip Abductions- 130 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Standing calf raises – 125 lbs, 3 sets of 10
Squats with kettle bell or free weight – 25 lbs, 3 sets of 5
OR Bosu ball squats with 10 lb. free weight – 3 sets of 5
Swinging leg hinges – 3 sets of 10 each leg
Elbow to knee wide stance push ups – 3 sets of 8 (push ups are always good!)
30 second standard plank – 2 reps
Cool down: stationary bike at moderate resistance, 10 minutes
LOTS OF STRETCHING. Ya know, cause pregnancy.

I really like the Smith machine because of the range of motion stoppers it provides, as well as the stationary bar (as in you can’t accidentally pull it off the machine frame). Walking lunges are frowned upon during pregnancy because of pulling round ligaments or pelvic muscles blah blah blah, I don’t remember the reason, but backwards static lunges on the Smiths are both challenging to your muscles without risking injury to your pregnant body. I’ve tried running a few times with lots of pain in my knees (totes bummer), and now that my feet hurt pretty regularly (and lower back), the stationary bike is my new go- to for cardio.

What are you up to, interwebs?

About mombieconfessions

I am a sarcastic mom, tried and true INTJ, my DISC profile has a high D and C with low I and S, and I'm a quirky geek (love me some Star Wars, BSG, Firefly, Dr, Who and comic books!). When I grow up I want to be an Amazon warrior with super powers and an awesome costume. Music and literature are passions, cooking and baking are hobbies, and writing a blog (such as this one) is both a cathartic release and documentation of the growth of my family and myself. View all posts by mombieconfessions

4 responses to “Second Trimester Lower Body Workout

  • Southern Sea Muse

    Now this is an ideal workout in pregnancy! I like how you organize it. I always “trained” during mine, because it is, of course, nothing short of an Olympic event. Makes delivery so much easier. Kudos to you and your routine!

  • Mary Sue

    If I ever decide to ‘do this again,’ I’m going to reference this. I know I started backing off of everything once the round ligament aches kicked in, mostly because I was scared. I think it made my delivery harder.

    I second the kudos to MomZombie for her dedication. Today, I shall eat bread in your honor! (Cake, I’m going to eat cake in your honor.)

    • mombieconfessions

      Pregnancy treats us all differently, even from baby to baby! If you decide to have another, I hope you remember that the end result is all worth it (which is what I’m trying to remember during the next 19ish weeks). Once you know what to expect, especially with a planned pregnancy, it isn’t nearly so hard.

Leave a Reply

