Baby Shower!

This past weekend I had the honor of throwing a shower for one of my closest friends, Terah. In the short years we have been friends, she has become an important figure in my life, and with a baby girl on the way in August, I couldn’t wait to flex my party planning muscles for her (not something I am called to do often). I requested the aid and organizational skills of her best friend, Steph, to assist and plan alongside me (especially since it was out of state!). The result was a beautiful, fun and girly baby shower. You can check out the Pinterest board we shared for inspiration and ideas! It was previously private to keep the guest of honor’s eyes from seeing the ideas, but is now public for idea sharing.

Since we had months to plan, we divided into stages, first going with theme/ colors, then decorations and event time table (games, presents, etc), and lastly the menu. Breaking up the planning over time really helped, especially since I had time to test most of the menu to ensure I wouldn’t totally flop with the recipes the weekend of the event. Like with mini Gwinn’s birthday, taking on projects a little at a time kept everything from feeling rushed or becoming overwhelming. It helped tremendously that my parents decided to travel that same week by car and drove my boxes of shower items up for free! Thanks, mom and dad!

After perusing the aisles of Target, I came across the shower curtain that would be the catalyst for the entire shower “theme”, if you will. From there I built on the pink birds look, surfed hours and hours on Pinterest, and found some beautiful ideas. Once Steph and I pow wow’ed and combined our ideas, I felt confident that this would be a beautiful event.

For the shower favors (one of my favorite aspects of the whole event), I spray painted mason jars with lace taped to the jar, then sealed the paint to protect it from chipping. The lids have pale pink cardstock decorated with a gold bird stamp and “merci beaucoup!” Inside: ginger lemon sandwich cookies and tea bags. Mint sheer ribbon from the dollar store finished the look, and a rock candy swizzle stick for hot tea finished the gift. They turned out so sweetly!

The menu was pretty easy to plan. Terah loves BBQ, so I made biscuits stuffed with store bought BBQ (for shame, I know)- totally easy and really yummy. We had mini corn dog muffins, another craving during pregnancy, Cheetos, and an obligatory vegetable tray to round out the “savoureaux”(savory) side of things. For the “sucre” (sweet) table, we had a lovely white cake from Target, French macarons, chocolates, marshmallows and homemade birthday cake fudge. The drinks were an aqua lemonade (which unfortunately turned darker because of the frozen blackberries) and a pink raspberry lemonade, topped with lemon slices and frozen raspberries. That table was rounded with a wish tree for guests to write wishes for the family to be.

We played a few games, since we had an intimate group. The first was “my water broke” ice cubes with a tiny plastic baby. Whoever’s ice melted first won (I wish I had gotten pictures of the prizes! Cute mini nail polishes and mini files). We also played “the price is right: baby shower edition” and another shockingly difficult game with dry rice and miniature pins. After cake and presents came the crafting, which was definitely the hit of the party. We had a large- scale headband and onesies decorating station for baby M and the gals were so creative and talented!

Mama to be in the Middle, myself in stripes and Steph in glasses

Mama to be in the Middle, myself in stripes and Steph in glasses

I hope Terah had as much fun at her shower as I did planning it! Congratulations, mama, your little girl is so lucky to have you and your husband as her parents!

 

About mombieconfessions

I am a sarcastic mom, tried and true INTJ, my DISC profile has a high D and C with low I and S, and I'm a quirky geek (love me some Star Wars, BSG, Firefly, Dr, Who and comic books!). When I grow up I want to be an Amazon warrior with super powers and an awesome costume. Music and literature are passions, cooking and baking are hobbies, and writing a blog (such as this one) is both a cathartic release and documentation of the growth of my family and myself. View all posts by mombieconfessions

2 responses to “Baby Shower!

Leave a Reply

