Thoughts for Food

Junk Food I Love:
Krispy Kreme donuts
Ice cream, preferably cake batter or cookie dough
Cookie dough (or cookies, whatev)
Cake
Chocolate
King’s Hawaiian sweet rolls

And that’s pretty much it. Unless it’s chocolate or sweet, I probably don’t want it when it comes to junk food. In general. I mean, once in a while I want an enchilada or some cheetos, but the above list, at almost any moment, can make me do a 180 from whatever I’m currently doing and shove my face into said food. Usually, in an effort to avoid these junk food items, I just stay happily satisfied with home cooking (and that typically works). But, lately, I haven’t wanted to cook. Why? As of late, Team Gwinn has been in a food rut. We buy the same staples at the store, I make the same ten or so meals, lather rinse repeat. Even mini Gwinn has been stuck in a “meatballs, chicken, and Lima beans” phase. So when Captain Laser Pants made some food requests, I obliged. I want to keep husband happy, and having new things to cook actually makes me want to cook, which keeps me away from donuts. That is, until he said his requests were “spaghetti with meat sauce” and “Mamwich”.

Let me clarify. If a terrorist organization wanted to torture me, they would give me a plate of spaghetti with meat sauce and make me eat it. I would rather have lemon juice squirted into paper cuts between my toes than eat spaghetti, especially with meat sauce. Are you getting the picture? I hate spaghetti. With meat sauce. Typing that so many times makes me queasy. Even when it’s all churched up on King’s Hawaiian sweet rolls, the same pretty much goes for Mamwich. It’s the meat sauce on a roll without the noodles.

To complicate things, I’m over having bread in the house. Mini Gwinn and I don’t eat it, wheat is bad for you (yes, even whole wheat), and when I do eat it, I feel bloated and sluggish afterward. The complicated part: CLP really likes bread. He eats a lot, so to boost his calorie intake, he says he needs it (blech).  I’m also slowly cutting out dairy (cheese is the hardest part), including my whey protein, so in the event of a pregnancy, the dairy can be out of my system before a 2.0 is born and we don’t run into the same issues mini Gwinn had with milk products. So, in an effort to avoid food I don’t want to eat, i.e. don’t want to cook, I’ve been on the hunt for some new food for the whole team, and not just the captain.

Here are some of my newest favorites:

Two Ingredient Pancakes/ Paelo Pancakes/ Banana Pancakes: One of the ingredients is a mashed up banana. The other ingredient is eggs. Make pancakes with them. Pretty simple. Also, the perfect pre-workout food. No sugar needed, bananas are excellent sources of carbs and calories, and eggs are delicious, protein-y goodness. Add some cinnamon if you want to make it a three ingredient pancake. (Original Source: not sure. But this one is from Recipe Girl)

Delicious Stuffed Cabbage Rolls: I substituted the rice for cooked quinoa. Quinoa has more healthy stuff to offer than rice. And I have a three pound bag of it that needs some attention. You can nix the meat if you want it to be vegetarian. (Original Source: Pioneering Today)

Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Peppers: Layer Provolone cheese on the bottom of the cut green bell pepper, fill with sauteed mushrooms, onions, and cooked strips of beef. Layer another slice of Provolone on the top, bake for 15-20 minutes. It’s easy, delicious, and no useless bread. (Original Source: Peace + Love + Low Carb)

Homemade Fruit Roll Ups: Mash up fruit. Lay it on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Bake it at a low heat for 8-10 hours. It’s that simple, and these turn out so deliciously. I have made a few kinds, and my favorites are pineapple/ orange/ mango and strawberry/ blueberry/ blackberry/ raspberry. (Original Source: Love u Madly)

Parmesan Baked Tomatoes: The name says it all. Sprinkle some dried oregano if you like, cover tomato slices with Parmesan cheese, and bake til cheese is melty. (Original Source: My Kitchen Affair)

The Bichen Berg: This is my creation. Sort of. I mix ground turkey with diced onion, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, pepper and garlic into burger patties, grill, and top with a fried egg, turkey bacon strips, sliced avocado, and (optional) cheese. This is my favorite burger ever. If you’re going to do bread with this, it has to be King’s Hawaiian, otherwise, it’s not a Bichen Berg. You heard it here first.

 

Do you have any bread/ dairy free stuff you’re a fan of and would like to share? We could get stuck in this rut pretty easily, too. Hope your Tuesday is super spesh!

About mombieconfessions

I am a sarcastic mom, tried and true INTJ, my DISC profile has a high D and C with low I and S, and I'm a quirky geek (love me some Star Wars, BSG, Firefly, Dr, Who and comic books!). When I grow up I want to be an Amazon warrior with super powers and an awesome costume. Music and literature are passions, cooking and baking are hobbies, and writing a blog (such as this one) is both a cathartic release and documentation of the growth of my family and myself. View all posts by mombieconfessions

7 responses to “Thoughts for Food

  • Erin

    With Alex having a gluten allergy, we are always thinking of new non-bread dishes. Our favs: lemon pepper cilantro tilapia with lentils; millet, grilled chicken, onions, and kale; black beans, grilled chicken, avocado, and queso (I love cheese); jambalaya; and mushroom risotto. Yum!

  • st sahm

    What am I missing? I don’t know what King’s H. Sweet Rolls are?

    • mombieconfessions

      King’s Hawaiian Bread is a sweet bread that’s usually in the bakery section of a grocery store. It comes in an orange and white package and it is yummy. It’s sweet enough to be an indulgence and great for French toast casseroles, burgers and dinner rolls.

  • Jen Moore

    Have you checked out Kalyn’s Kitchen? She has a bunch of SoBe-friendly recipes, so they’re mostly gluten-free, though some still have dairy.

    Breaking the bread habit has been hard for us. I really miss it, but I feel so much better without it.

    PS I haven’t read your blog in forever. Glad to see you guys are doing well! We should get together this summer!

    • mombieconfessions

      I have not, but definitely will now, thank you! It is a bit embarrassing to admit that I had to look up what “SoBe” was, heh. It’s crazy how unhealthy bread is, but how people cling to it. So glad to hear you feel better without it- I don’t think people believe that bread impacts health until they actually try living without it.

      I’m so glad you stopped by to read, and have loved reading your entries! I would love to get together this summer!! Splash park, anyone?

    • mombieconfessions

      Awesome! I will have to check out that site. Thank you! Hope you all are doing well!

Leave a Reply

