My Mom’s Gonna Hate This One (Or: Moderately Revealing Post- Baby Weight Loss Progress)

Ok gang. I’ve been off the grid (again) due to a really busy month, a cold, and a certain little person growing five teeth (including two molars) at once.

I’ve been semi- obsessed with weight lifting lately. Until I really started digging around, it felt like my options for a weight lifting routine were really lame (like Prevention Fitness magazine “lift these two 3 lb. weights for sculpted arms in a week!”) or steroid- using dudes looking to max their pump. Either one extreme or the other can work for some, but not for me. So I talked to some trainers, looked around the intwebs, and decided what I was doing was working, I just needed to do more. So, here’s what I’ve been doing at the gym lately and here are some progress pictures.

Warm Up: 1 minute walking on incline on treadmill, 4-5 minutes running an 8.22 minute mile OR walking on the stair mill for 4-5 minutes at ~80-100 stairs a minute
Pull Ups (4 sets of 4)
Farmer’s Carries (45- 50 lbs. each hand)
Standing Weighted Penguin Taps (45-50 lbs each hand, 2 sets of 20)
Leaning Lateral Raises ( 15-20 lbs, 4 sets of 6)
Bench Press (so far I’m up to 20 lbs. plus the additional 40 of the bar [I’m new to bench press!], 3 sets of 8)
Running on treadmill for 1.5 minutes at 10.00 minute mile
Balance Squats on Bosu Ball (3 sets of 10 with 15 lb. free weight)
Crunch Machine (45 kg, 3 sets of 10)
Suspended High Knees (holding yourself up on dips bars and bringing your knees to your chest alternately, 4 sets of 20)
Running on treadmill for 1.5 minutes at 8.22 minute mile
Leg Lifts (leaning on giant workout ball, each side, 2 sets of 20)
Some Move with the Stability Ball Between Your Ankles/ Leg Raises (lay flat on your back, raise the ball up and down 10 times, rest, do it again. It’s really, really hard)
Basket Twists with 25. lb free weight (2 sets 20)
Push Ups/ Modified Push Ups/ Army Style Push Ups (24 total, varying positions) – no girly push ups!
Cool down: Walking 3 minutes on treadmill, stretching

I have to admit that my thighs are still my problem area, mostly due to a really unpleasant pinched nerve issue from pregnancy that keeps me from running races and doing much inner thigh work. If you have advice on this, bring it! I need help in that area big time.

5 weeks post- delivery

5 weeks post- delivery

5 months post- delivery

5 months post- delivery

10 months post- delivery

10 months post- delivery

16 months post- delivery

16 months post- delivery

In other news, what the heck, Spring? What happened to 72 degrees and sunny?

Also, this guy:

He models for Janie and Jack. Not really.

He models for Janie and Jack. Not really.

My sister’s mother in law is an awesome photographer, and she captured a rare moment of mini Gwinn being still and pensive.

So, also in other news, six of my girlfriends are currently pregnant. Dare I say I’m feeling a twinge (TINY) of jealousy while still being excited for them?

Do you have workouts you love? Are you as bummed about Spring being bi-polar as I am?

About mombieconfessions

I am a sarcastic mom, tried and true INTJ, my DISC profile has a high D and C with low I and S, and I'm a quirky geek (love me some Star Wars, BSG, Firefly, Dr, Who and comic books!). When I grow up I want to be an Amazon warrior with super powers and an awesome costume. Music and literature are passions, cooking and baking are hobbies, and writing a blog (such as this one) is both a cathartic release and documentation of the growth of my family and myself. View all posts by mombieconfessions

19 responses to “My Mom’s Gonna Hate This One (Or: Moderately Revealing Post- Baby Weight Loss Progress)

  • crimeangurl

    Awesome progress! I’m currently doing 30 Day Shred and have seen some quite good results (there are progress pics on my blog). My plan for April is to do Ripped in 30 DVD + add some morning cardio.

  • Anka

    You look amaaaaaaaaazing! That’s all I have to say! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • dkingneece

    I need to get my workouts together already. That kid of yours is adorable!

  • Mary Sue

    YAY for progress, hard work, getting your body back, and having beautiful children!!! Congrats on all your hard work! And, seriously, that kid could be a model.

    I’ve been enjoying weight classes at my gym too. It’s the first time I’ve ever straight up done a weight class with a barbell. Me gusta. I’ve seen results like I’ve not seen since college. Weights, when done right, are like magic…very hard magic…

    My next challenge is going to be pilates. I tried one intro class for 20 minutes and was sweating hard core. And achy the next day. Mark of a good workout.

    • mombieconfessions

      Right back at you, seriously! Carving out time away from your precious bean is tough, but you’ve rocked it for sure.

      What is a weight lifting class? You need to describe this to me. Women usually avoid lifting weights because for some reason they think they’ll get bulky, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. 99% of women don’t have a natural predisposition to “bulk up”- we just don’t have the testosterone for it.

      Oooh, Pilates. Keep me posted on this one!

  • st sahm

    Your charted progress impresses me as much as how hard you’ve worked! You look stunning! That teeny tiny bikini kinda makes me hate you a little – HA!

    Holy-Holiest-Saints-of-Angel-Faces, your son is beautiful.

    • mombieconfessions

      Clearly I charted sporadically, heh. Thank you! But, between us girls, that teeny tiny bikini will never see the light of day again (what mom can actually wear that kind of stuff out?!). Pretty sure this year I’m going to have to don a high neck tankini, lest I risk public exposure by the hands of my beautiful baby boy. And thank for you saying he’s pretty, too! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • st sahm

        Ha.Ha.Ha.

        All mom’s should have “getaway clothes” when just the two of you are going to the beach or a weekend out. Stuff that a mom wouldn’t wear in front of the kids but should wear as a wife!

      • mombieconfessions

        Beach? Weekend out? Alone time? What’s this strange phenomenon you speak of, bff? ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Katie

    I need to go to the gym with you one day! I work so hard on my legs, they are like 80% of my body, but I need more ab work! I run 2 or 3 miles each workout, I may steal some of your circuit for tomorrow!

  • Dr. Mom

    WOW!! You look great!! I tried the 30 day shred back in the day but it was just brutal on my knees so I gave up. I found that running really got me back into shape and I look forward to doing it again after I recover from my next c/s.

    I have to admit that I only understood about 2 of those exercises you listed .. lol! But damn woman, that transformation is quite impressive! Good for you!

    • mombieconfessions

      Thank you! Running is amazing for getting into shape after a baby, and you inspire me (and incite a little envy, too, hehe) when you talk about running.

      Most of the exercises listed are also links with videos or images to describe them. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you for your encouragement! We moms who like to keep it active gotta stick together. Hoe you are feeling well as you go through this season, even if you aren’t running. I’m so excited for you!

      • Dr. Mom

        Aw, thank you so much!! I do miss running, but I just don’t see how I can physically do it – since I got pregnant, any abdominal muscles I built have completely softened up to the point where I feel like I have no core left! lol! So for now, I will just stick with walking.

      • mombieconfessions

        Walking is better than sitting! And those muscles will rubber band back into place soon enough.

  • Knocked Up and Working Out | Confessions of a Mom Zombie

    […] (I’ve got links to pretty much every exercise listed above in ย previous post, Post Baby Weight Loss Progress) […]

Leave a Reply

