Nothing New Under the Sun (but definitely in my closet)

Ok, so, I’ve been ultra MIA lately. My bad. There isn’t anything new going on for CLP, mini Gwinn and myself. Currently I’m sniffing for work, and it looks like I’m going to go back to teaching, but just on the weekends, and maybe (if it all works out!) taking care of a precious baby for one of my amazing mama girlfriends once or twice a week. The beauty of all this- no need for child care (hopefully). And I loved teaching- so win!

Any way, when I was scared of re-entering the corporate world, I thought retail therapy would help ease the shift. I went to the thrift store (yeah, that’s retail therapy for me these days) and found two gorgeous wool skirts, one grey and black and the other brown and cream pinstripes. The total? $6.30. One of them is from the Limited, tags still on it. Impressed? It gets better. Around the same time (within a day or two) I went to Target in search of a needed cocktail dress for an upcoming wedding (yes, I go to Target for cocktail dresses now. Banana Republic and Anne Taylor are brands of my past). While on the hunt, I sifted through the clearance racks for “work appropriate” attire and stumbled upon a goldenrod dress. Hear me out. Normally, I shy away from any color that isn’t blue, black or grey. And by “shy away” I mean “I absolutely do not buy any colors other than blue, black or grey”. But, in a moment of whimsy, and with the knowledge that current fashion trends are veering towards bright colors, I -gasp- took it to the dressing room with me. In this excursion I also grabbed the cocktail- esque dress I wanted, a cardigan in a different shade of yellow (cause, hey, if goldenrod looked bad, maybe daisy yellow would be ok?), and a royal blue high- low knit skirt (I’m currently infatuated with high- low hemlines).

This is me letting you into the dressing room with me. Oh, the scandal!

This is the goldenrod dress. $7. SRLSY.

So, this dress shocked the bejeebus outta me for a few reasons. One- the color is surprisingly flattering. Two- it has pockets, and I LOVE dresses with pockets. Three- It was $7.

 

 

 

The reason I went to the store in the first place – the blue dress

This royal blue dress is so, so pretty. It has butterfly sleeves, draping neckline, tie waist, and it fits beautifully. The one I’m wearing in this picture was a size too big, so I ordered it online (and it was $6 cheaper online, anyway!). The cardigan was on clearance for $12 with really pretty beaded detail.

I actually liked this the least.

The skirt wasn’t flattering at all, and the red tank top was gigantic. It made for a poorly assembled look, even though the colors are great together.

Clearly, I’m on a Snow White/ primary colors kick. Have you seen Polyvore, the website where you can put together looks of your dream outfits (like me), or if you have a well stocked closet, put together new outfits with what you already own? It’s wonderful. I really like the Disney Bound looks, like this one here. See? I am so hooked on the red- blue- yellow combination, in fact, that I am planning on adding a red ribbon and bead necklace to the blue dress for the wedding, with a red satin clutch and yellow sandals.

I made this. It has a bow in the back, very cute.

Nine West, literally six years old.

Because I have a horrendous habit of finding one color or one color scheme and sticking to it religiously, I’m now finding myself gravitating to this trio almost daily.

Red necklace, yellow shoes, blue shirt. Stop me!

Sigh. Maybe I should just go back to black.

On to other things. I’ll be doing a blog post about the goldenrod dress and the five or six styles I’ve thought of for it. Boots, belts, lace- extended slip, dressy, casual- it’s so versatile!

This post was meant to be more of a “I’m still heeeeeere!” than clothing- based. Oops.

Hope all is well out in the world of interwebs for you folks!

About mombieconfessions

I am a sarcastic mom, tried and true INTJ, my DISC profile has a high D and C with low I and S, and I'm a quirky geek (love me some Star Wars, BSG, Firefly, Dr, Who and comic books!). When I grow up I want to be an Amazon warrior with super powers and an awesome costume. Music and literature are passions, cooking and baking are hobbies, and writing a blog (such as this one) is both a cathartic release and documentation of the growth of my family and myself. View all posts by mombieconfessions

2 responses to “Nothing New Under the Sun (but definitely in my closet)

Leave a Reply

